top of page
  • Writer's pictureMAREJ

Meet Tamara Blau: Q&A with Senior Director at The Blau & Berg Company

Legacy to Leadership; A Journey into Real Estate

Tamara Blau

Senior Director

The Blau & Berg Company

Years with company/firm: 8 years

Years in field: 8 years

Years in real estate industry: 8 years

Tell us how and when you began your career in the profession you are in:

It was a legacy career for me. I grew up with family in the business and it was a natural evolution for me to follow this as a career path.

What is your current position?

Senior Director with The Blau & Berg Company

How do you manage work/life balance?

While it’s never easy, it’s always my priority to make sure I budget my time, so my family is never left to feel less important than my career. You don’t get many chances to experience unique moments with your children, and being a broker affords me the flexibility to be there for them.

What impact has social media/networking had on your business?

Networking is the key to building and maintaining a client base, and it’s the backbone of any successful broker’s approach. A majority of my business comes via networking.

What unique qualities and or personality do you feel makes you most successful in your profession?

At my core, I always enjoy engaging with people. I am social by nature and am not afraid to open up to people. Personality is important; it’s how we form bonds. Clients want to believe they’re working with somebody who is making a genuine commitment to their needs.

Do you feel being a woman is an advantage, disadvantage, or no advantage in today’s business world? Why? Why not?

The real answer is, all three. Being a woman might open a door to an opportunity, but the corporate environment is still, in many ways, a “man’s world”. Realizing these variables ultimately makes it less of an issue; I stand on the merits of my accomplishments and am proud to call myself a successful woman in the business world.

Tell us a little about your family:

I have two children, both boys, ages 15 and 12. I am happily married and live in Millburn, which is also where I do a lot of my work.

If you are the primary caregiver to your children what obstacles and challenges do you meet on a day-to-day basis?

Caregiving is mostly a shared responsibility in our house, but even so, there are always obstacles, and each day presents its’ own unique challenges.

What is the funniest, most unique situation you have faced/conquered during your business career?

Covid presented me and many people with a once-in-a-lifetime unique situation. I had to pivot from working on real estate transactions all over northern New Jersey to moving the focus of my business closer to my hometown of Millburn in order to manage a household with two children at home while not taking a step backward career-wise.

What outside activities do you enjoy during you free time?

I love playing golf and tennis. We also love to travel as a family, and I never say no to a trip to the beach.

bottom of page